Kankakee River fishing spots? - Chicago Illinois Fishing Forum, Information & Reports
» CLF Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2012, 07:51 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Kankakee River fishing spots?

I am looking for any info on fishing spots around 55 and the Kankakee river for smallmouth fishing. I am new to fishing the river and looking for any help. Thanks.
Bigdadd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-22-2012, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Kankakee River fishing spots?

http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/hu ... bearer.pdf
http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/Landmgt/PD ... nkakee.pdf

Desplaines river access
http://dnr.state.il.us/lands/landmgt/hu ... dspmap.pdf
I have used the hunting maps for reference as they show a little more detail.
Kankakee River – DesPlaines Conservation Area
Reference map on attached link
• Areas 30, 27, boat launch up to railroad bridge have very limited wading opportunities – mostly bank and boat fishing.
• Area from above Railroad bridge up stream to Miliken Lake offer wading opportunities with water getting shallower as you proceed upstream from the railroad bridge until you reach Prairie Creek. Public access is all on the north side of the river.
• Access below I-55
o Follow road to boat launch, park in Picnic area parking lot by restrooms and follow path upstream. River becomes wadeable as you proceed upstream from RR bridge. The farther upstream you go from the bridge, the farther out you can wade.
o First trap range – nearest Interstate 55. Park in parking lot, cross over river road, look for paths and follow to river
• Access above I-55
o First turn-in on River Road east Of I-55. Park by gate, follow path to river
o Prairie creek / Miliken Lake. Turn into Miliken Lake off River Road. Park along Prairie Creek or park in parking areas at Miliken Lake – follow paths to River. Water gets deeper as you proceed upstream or out from Prairie Creek