Tenkara Fishing - Chicago Illinois Fishing Forum, Information & Reports
» CLF Sponsors

Complete sponsor list

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2016, 01:30 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Tenkara Fishing

Hey guys, I am pretty new to CLF and fly fishing. I started out using a western fly rod with the reel an all about 2 years ago and loved it. The casting was a little difficult and having all that line out and floating around on the water was a bit annoying, especially in faster moving water. After looking for some information on how to better cast I came across Japanese fly fishing, Tenkara Fishing. It is a very simple way to fly fish. you have a long expandable rod anywhere from 10 to 20 feet long, A furled line and a simple fly. There is no reel and the rod is super flexible so even the smallest fish seem like a 4 or 5 pounder. I picked up a rod over the summer and ever since that first day pulling in an a 6 inch sunfish I have been hooked. I sold off most of my western fly equipment and went full Tenkara. If any of you have tried it I would like to find out your thoughts, techniques and any information you have.
Thanks!
Bross1987 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-02-2017, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)

On really skinny streams I could see it being productive but around here I don't see the benefits. How much line do you have attached to your rod? I enjoy using a flyrod during certain times of the year on the river but consider myself a hack. Positioning yourself to make quality drifts thru an area is key, I'm content with a 40ft cast in most situations.
hipster78 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2017, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)