I'm new to bowfishing...where do you go? - Chicago Illinois Fishing Forum, Information & Reports
» CLF Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2008, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default I'm new to bowfishing...where do you go?

I know some guys go at night on the Des Plaines River or the Illinois River, but where do you go to launch...public launches are closed by 10 pm.

I have been staying local...I wade the Fox R. I plan to go in the a.m. tomorrow.

I would prefer taking out my boat but I don't know where to go. I know the Illinois is good but I don't have a fishing partner...it helps when you have someone run the motor. I have been on the Illinois in the afternoon when boat traffic is bad...what about the a.m. Are the commons more visable in the water in the a.m. along shore with less water turbidity caused by the boat traffic?
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2008, 09:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

des plains river we lunch by big basin thast open 24/7.its a duck hunting lunch so its alwasy open.u can also lunch at big bason idk how late that is open till.illinios i have no clue where to lunch.good luck out there
bowfisher101 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-11-2008, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

You didn't say how big your boat is. I live in Plainfield and have an 18' Bass Tracker and an old beat up 14' jon boat. I mostly use the big boat locally on the Illinois and Vermillion Rivers out of Starved Rock, the Kankakee River at the Des Plaines Conservation Area public boat launch, and the Des Plaines River at the Three Rivers Marina boat launch ($10 launch fee).