using jigs with braided line question - Chicago Illinois Fishing Forum, Information & Reports
» CLF Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2013, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default using jigs with braided line question

So I've recently, out of nowhere, been losing a bunch of jigs on the cast. I'm no novice to using my bait caster, nor casting jigs. However I don't know if it's the filmsey rod I've been using lately, or the new leader line I got. The rod is 7' and only 1 year old. I had to sell my high end rods bc of financial problems so this one isn't graphite, and it's become a bit flimsey when casting. The new leader material is simply 12lb mono. Since this has been happening I've tried switching the knots I use, generally use an improved clinch knot. Since, I've tried using palomar knots, improved clinch knot, and a regular clinch knot.

So, is it likely it could be the rod? Could the leader line I bought have been old? Should I tie the jigs straight on to the braid? Or should I use some flourocarbon 12lb instead? Any help is appreciated.
mattolsen is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2013, 01:23 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: using jigs with braided line question

It can't hurt to try any of the things you mentioned. Obviously whatever your doing now, isn't working properly. I would guess its the line, try a different line/leader and see what happens. Mops
mops7 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-12-2013, 02:25 PM   #3 (permalink)

I like a little stiffer rod for jigging. With a noodlish rod by the time you feel the jig stuck it's too late. I tie right to the fireline.
huntnfish79 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-12-2013, 03:13 PM   #4 (permalink)