Gun Question...help - Chicago Illinois Fishing Forum, Information & Reports
» CLF Sponsors

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2012, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Gun Question...help

I am brand new to waterfowl/pheasant hunting and just recently bought my first shot gun. I purchased a Remington 870 Exress synthetic stock with a 3" shell capacity. I havent had a chance to use it hunting but i have had it to the range 5 or 6 times. The second time I went shooting, I ran into my problem. After i fire my third round, I slide the fore end forward, naturally, to extract and eject the empty shell. The problem is the fore end will not slide back towards me and gets stuck. The extracter latches on to the empty shell but will not pull the shell out of the firing chamber. The empty shell gets lodged in the barrel. To remove the empty shell, I had to take the gun apart and wiggle the empty shell out of the barrel. For target loads, I use Federal 2 3/4" shot shells. After I shoot my gun, I thoroughly clean and oil it EVERY TIME. I've checked for burrs or imperfections where the shell gets lodged and there is nothing. It essentially is a brand new gun and it's very frustrating. Why does this happen? I would like to get this resolved before I head out to the field or the blinds. Help would be appreciated...
BossBoy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2012, 02:13 PM   #2 (permalink)

Default Re: Gun Question...help