ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anybody know if the boat launch at Voyagers in Elgin is open yet? Last time I tried to launch was in the fall and the docks had been pulled out.
Thanks

G

·
You don't need a dock to launch a boat I hope?!? Was going to launch from there today but got lazy. Fished south from there 2-3 weeks ago, how time flies. I didn't catch any fish that day and the water was coooollld, I'm just beginning to learn that stretch of water though so that can explain the lack of fish a little bit. What do you usually catch around there ? Which way do you go from Voyager, up or downstream? I've gone but both directions but not very far either way. Found one whole about 10 feet deep but I only marked 2 fish (if that's what they were) Anyway, good luck launching that boat. Know of anyplace along that stretch of water where you don't have to be off the water by dark because of the landing closing?

·
Registered
842 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah I know you can still launch it even without the dock. I just figured it might be a bit easier for me. I haven't gone very far north of there, and have gone as far south as the dam. Supposedly every fish that swims in the lake is in that stretch of river, though I have only seen smallmouth, catfish, walleyes, drum and largemouth bass.

G

·