ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, new member here. While I am new to the West/South suburbs, I've been fishing all my life in the NW suburbs and all over WI. With a day off work I thought I'd try some afternoon fishing on the DuPer.

First things first, I was very impressed with the easiness of buying a fishing license online for the state of IL, and the afforability of it as well.

With no prior knowledge of hot holes or good parking spots, etc along the river, I assumed heading to a local forest preserve would be ideal.

I went to McDowell Grove forest preserve in Naperville/Warrenville and proceeded to work the western shorelines around the parking lots and down the bank towards McDowell Dam downstream.

I was using a 5" tiki-stick style plastic salted worm in a watermelon shade, and some purple berkley powerbaits, all unweighted with a very slow twitching presentation. While I have little river fishing experience, I found some deeper holes, eddys, and calm water where I assumed the fish would be hiding.

After a whole lot of nothing, I took the hike towards Mud Lake. Somehow, I managed to stumble upon Fawell Dam, where I walked up on what I thought were a couple of smallies sitting in the shallow muddy shoreline. Of course I spooked them away and didnt see any action the rest of the day. I tossed for about another hour and a half on the shorelines about a half mile south of Fawell Dam, but with no hits, trails, or fish sightings.

At this point I gave up on finding Mud Lake, as I had no idea where to go and the trails are not marked at all. At about 3pm I called it quits and headed back to the car.

While I know these are not prime fishing hours or temps, I thought I'd at least land a few small SMB or LMB...especially seeing the luck some have had in the past week in similar sun and water temp conditions on this forum.