ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been fishing the Kish for only about 5 years now and I have noticed that my catches have been steadily decreasing. (I also fish a little less too because I have kids) However, somebody in a previous post said there was a fish kill a few years ago, can someone elaborate.

Also, with regard to Pike- I have caught some of the biggest and fattest pike of my life west of Belvidere all the way to where the kish meets the Rock. I miss those. People please practice catch and release. Please email me and maybe we can share spots...

·
Registered
118 Posts
The fish kill on the Kish that I refered to was on the south branch about 10 years ago. The polution came from a pig farm between Sycamore and Genoa. It killed pretty much every fish from Sycamore to Rockford. The north branch(Belvideer) was uneffected. The Shabbona sportsmans club did restock smallmouth, pike, crappie, bluegill, and some walleye back into the Kish. It can take a while for a fishery to bounce back. I think the smallmouth bounced back well in the south branch, but the pike must take more time.

G

·