ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've heard a lot about IG on the boards,so I thought I would check it out. Drove up to gate house and was asked for the non-lake county "parking" fee of $10. Was not planning to fish and the guard was nice enough to let me drive in to look around. If the fishing is anything like the overall appearance of this place, then this should be a winner. I have a few questions for anyone experienced in fishing IG - There is a lot of water here....any tips on locations/ponds etc.??? Also, if you walk in,do you still have to pay the $10? The sign inidcates that it is a "parking fee" rather than a usage fee.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Don't know about the fee since I'm a resident. Last summer the fishing there was great until late Oct, early Nov when the weeds died down. So far this spring has been slow for me except for that spell of warm weather the other week... caught a couple nice bass. From the other fishermen I've talked to on the banks everyone has had slim pickings so far.

The lake is catch and release only so they should still be in there.

The guard at the gate will give you a lake map with depths marked and the locations of several fish cribs they installed. Generally the cribs are reachable only by boat which MUST be rented on the site.
Once the weeds grow up and the water warms, if it is like last summer, bluegill and largemouth move into the weeds along the banks. Two of us caught over 60 fish in two hours last summer on our first day there... using flyrods with both topwater lures and streamer flies. Plenty of big largemouth among the 'gills. Got a few walleye from the banks also. I watched a guy catch a Muskie that he said measured 32" from a boat.