ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow fishermen. I'm new to computers and fairly new to fishing, so please bear with me. I live in Cherry Valley and intend to spend a lot of time wading after smallmouths this summer (spring if Mama Nature would cooperate). I have a million questions, so I'll start with two basic ones, both pro/con type.

1. What's wrong with snap swivels? I like to change lures a lot (probably too often) and and I love those little gizmos, but everything I read says to avoid them like Bill avoids Hillary.

2. Will I be laughed off the river if I use a close faced spinning reel? I'm using an open faced Quantum right now, but I'm tempted to go back to the old Johnson closed face that I'm much more comfortable and accurate with.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Welcome to the board sluggo. The Kish is a beautiful river that offers some quality smallmouth bass fishing. To answer your 1st question, I use snap swivels sometimes. They work fine with some lures but ruin the action on others. The major advantage is the ability to change lures quickly. I use fireline and the knot I use makes it difficult to tie on larger lures. I get around this by tying on a swivel. They also have provided just enough leader to keep pike from biting me off. The swivels are fine with spinnerbaits, crankbaits, in-line spinners, and topwaters. They ruin the action on jigs or any livebait rigs that you use. I also don't like to use them in clear water situations. I wouldn't worry about the push button reel. If your wading the river, you probably won't run into too mant people. Anyway fishing is about getting out and enjoying the outdoors, its not a fashion show. Using the push button you won't have to worry about too many guys bugging you for fishing tips. Good luck this spring and let us know how you do.

·
Registered
268 Posts
sluggo