ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to CLF. Never been to lasalle but was wanting to try this year. I was reading old posts and came across some that talked about the plant being shut down and fishing not being as good in early spring.

Lasalle had their last outage for maintainance that ended approx Feb 28th.
How fast does the powerplant warm up the water, will 15 - 20 days of the plant back on track make the opening week good fishing?

Also from what I read large roaches on hook w/no weight or chicken livers on bottom while drifting best for stripers for blues and stripers?
Silver shad raps etc.
Is that correct?

I want to hook into some of those stripers.

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks Matt

·
Registered
216 Posts
LaSalle cats and stripers

Sounds like you got the right info.
Chicken livers will catch stripers, whites, cats, yellow bass. I use 1/2-5/8" square chunks of sponge that is soaked in pureed chicken liver. The sponge doesn't come off the hook so I get a lot more hookups than if I just used chicken livers chunks. They'll snatch that off in a heartbeat.

And the shad raps around and over the the borrow pit on the arm before the hot discharge.

I'm going to try fishing around the end of the discharge as I usually catch smaller fish up in the discharge.

And, yes I think the lake should be warmed up enough in the northernmost arm to make it productive.

The water usually come out of the discharge pipes at about 85 degrees and goes back in the intake at about 50 degrees this time of the year.

At least that is what Collins station used to do at Heidecke when it was operating. Since LaSalle is a nuke with bigger generating capacity, it could be higher temps.

Will you be fishing from a boat?

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·