ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone been to Monee Reservoir this year. I haven't pick up by pole yet. I just want to do something. Can I get some feed back about Monee Reservoir. I am a novice fisherman. Should I go? Is it too soon? I live in the South Suburbs. Don't want to travel too far.

kenlmo

·
Registered
106 Posts
My good buddy who I was actually fishing with today works there. He will give the best info. I fished it twice with him last year and in about ten hours on the lake we hit one good fish. It recieves heavy fishing pressure, and there are good fish in it. In my experience, it was not too teriffic.

Marty

·
Registered
16 Posts
You should check out the reservoir this year especially because your close by. Fisherman caugth several bass over 6 lbs last year including myself. Lots of channel cats and a few northern pike in there to. the crappie and bluegill will start hitting as soon as the ice melts. Like marty said, there is a lot of fishing pressure especially around shore with side walks and by the boat dock. this area is fished everyday, all day. Bait and boat rentals start april 1st. If you come out this year I can give you quality first hand info, i have fished this lake for 5 years now, if i am not calling in sick that is. ;)

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
PartyMarty said:
My good buddy who I was actually fishing with today works there. He will give the best info. I fished it twice with him last year and in about ten hours on the lake we hit one good fish. It recieves heavy fishing pressure, and there are good fish in it. In my experience, it was not too teriffic.

Marty
Thanks Marty,

Where do you suggest here in the south suburbs. Looking for Crappie, Blue Gills, and Catfish.

Ken

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
PartyMarty said:
I have heard some decent things about braidwood and and shabbona. aside from that, I'm not too sure.