ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We are considering taking our boat up to the Flemish Cap (Northern IL / Southern WI) on Saturday AM for a day of fishing. We are looking for recomendations on good places to go this time of year, lures to use, depths this time of year, etc... Also, does anyone know how long of drive this is on the water? Any help is much appreciated. Dr. Detroit

·
Registered
1 Posts
I've been fishing out of Northpoint Marina for several years. Somebody posted directions here on this board. Essentially, go as far North and East as you can in Illinois and you're there.

Generally this time of the year I'll turn right and fish in the first mile of water from shore. I fish most with side planers or shallow running dipsy divers. Dodgers and flys trolled slow. Short Blue/green/gold flies.

Essentially the thing to do is use your eyes and radio to see where the boats are. Patterns change from day to day and year to year so there are no hard and fast rules. The fish can move around quite a bit.

--Tom

·
Registered
137 Posts
Dr. Detroit