ChicagoLand Fishing Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
How nice of Mr. Gake and his company to allow for fish passage around the Dayton Dam as long as his company is not responsible for paying for the fishways and is "reimbursed" for the diverted flow. How much is Mr. Gake's company paying us (the people of the State of Illinois) for the rights to use "our" water to operate their power plant in the first place.

As Vic pointed out, the ecologically responsible thing to do is to remove the dam, but that probably won't happen because someone's "personal interest" (the power company's) is involved. It's interesting to me how magnanimous the power company can be when they give up nothing, pay for nothing, and even ask for compensation for the diverted flow that the fishways would create while operating a for profit concern on a publically-owned waterway. With friends of the river like that......

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've been fishing it for nearly 30 years now and it's gotten better every year, this dispite those "God Awful" dams that everyone claims are killing the river!

I meant to quote

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: Marc on 2002-04-18 08:00 ]</font>

·
Registered
461 Posts
Bob Hicks,

I agree <font color="#FFFF00">100%</font> with your post.

I have been on the fence post for some time about dam removal; but, the histeria created by "that camp" makes me ill. I just don't buy their hype.

They are full of canal water!

I have just jumped off the fence on this issue - put a fish/canoe passage in if you must; but, leave the dams alone.

Razzo

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well Razzo that make two of us now, welcome to my club! Our Motto's are (yes...we have two) "There is a Fox River SOUTH of Batavia" and..."We ALL live downstream"
So then...anyone else care to jump on the "Keep a Dam" Bandwagon

·
Registered
280 Posts